

Meeting Minutes

MEETING INFORMATION

Annual General Meeting of CABS' Board of Directors Fiscal Year : 2015 Obiective:

00 - Head Office Program: Assembly: **Board of Directors**

Date and Time: 2015-03-05 13:00 Location(s): Ramada Prince-George Hotel, Prince George, British Columbia

Chair: Sean Alex Finnell

Secretary: Adam Normand (Temporary) Called By: John-Michael Minon

ATTENDEES

Attendees :

J-M Minon (CABS), C. Parker (CABS), M. Walkey (CABS), M. Scott (Dalhousie University), M. Thomas (Dalhousie University), D. Bentley (University of Ottawa), S. Lorentz (University of Ottawa), C. Moreau (University of Northern British Columbia), S. Newall (University of Northern British Columbia), N. Keshmiri (University of British Columbia), V. Lau (University of British Columbia), G. Zhan (University of Waterloo), D. Camuyong (University of Manitoba), N. Yagi (University of Manitoba), A. Zia (Brock University), R. Ambrosio (Brock University), M. Al-Awawdeh (McMaster University), J. Manna (McMaster University), E. Little (Wilfrid Laurier University), V. Buttinger (Wilfrid Laurier University), G. Ayoub (University of Calgary), Z. Ayoub (University of Calgary), K. Eze (University of Lethbridge), B. Warren (University of Lethbridge), A. Guay (Trent University), T. Green (Trent University), M. Yassin (University of Guelph), A. Lal (University of Guelph), J. Kozan (University of Regina), C-L. Schoettler (University of Regina), J. Gutierrez (Simon Fraser University), D. Love (Simon Fraser University), S. Mair (University of Victoria), R. Price (University of Victoria), M. Flaherty-Specht (University of British Columbia Okanagan), D. Canning (University of British Columbia Okanagan), V. Shen Wu (University of Winnipeg), F. Mintu (University of Winnipeg), B. Sinniger (HEC), K. Le (University of Saskatchewan), C. Kimber (University) of Saskatchewan), C. Mion (Carleton University), A. Webb (Carleton University), S. Finnell (McGill University), E. Lubendo (McGill University), K. Farlinger (University of Alberta), B. Barry (University of Alberta), J. Hayes (Bishop's University), K. Singh (Ryerson University), G. Bhulla (Kwantlen Polytechnic University).

Absentees:

N. Corradino (York University), F. Kaminski (Vancouver Island University), Z. Konings (St. Francis-Xavier University), A. Persaud

(Ryerson University), M. Richardson (Concordia University)

AGENDA

- Call to order 1.
- Approval of temporary secretary 2.
- 3. Review and adoption of the agenda
- Ratification of F2015 decisions by the Board of Directors (10 minutes)
- New Business: Board of Directors
 - Motion to open election (30 minutes)
 - i. Nomination roll
 - ii. Election by ballot
 - b. Election of incoming management team
 - Election of the incoming Chair of the Board and Vice Chair of the Board (30 minutes)
 - Motion to open election
 - Nomination roll
 - iii. Election by rising
 - Election of Governance Committee (10 minutes) d.
 - Election of Finance Committee (10 minutes)
 - Election of JDCC Committee (10 minutes) f.
 - Election of Strategic Oversight Committee (10 minutes)
- New Business: Adoption of F2016 Budget (20 minutes)
- Other business and Varia/Miscellaneous/Question Period 7.
- 8. Signing of the Charter
- Signing of Other Legal Documents for CRA 9.
- Adjournment

MINUTES

1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 4:04 PM (PST)

Approval of temporary secretary

Motion to appoint Adam Normand as temporary secretary by K. Le (University of Saskatchewan). Seconded by A. Zia (Brock University). Approved by unanimous consent.

3. Review and adoption of the agenda

Motion to adopt the agenda E. Lubendo (McGill University). Seconded by S. Mair (University of Victoria). Approved by unanimous consent.

4. Ratification of F2015 decisions by the Board of Directors.

Motion to ratify the following decisions by the Board of Directors of The Canadian Association of Business Students during the fiscal year 2015:

- Approval of University of Regina's bid to host WCLR 2015
- Hiring of Adam Normand as CABS' VP Corporate Relations
- Approval of Queen's University Class B membership
- Approval of changes to Policy on Conferences and Competition
- Approval of Privacy Policy

Page 1 / 3 Printed 2015-03-25

- Approval of Kwantlen Polytechnic University Class A membership
- Approval of changes to the Corporation's By-Laws
- Approval of Trent University's bid to host ECLR 2015; by E. Lubendo (McGill University). Seconded by J. Hayes (Bishop's University). Approved by unanimous consent.

5. New Business: Board of Directors

a. Motion to open elections

Motion to open elections by A. Zia (Brock University). Seconded by J. Hayes (Bishop's University).

Approved by unanimous consent.

b. Election of Management Team

Motion to appoint A. Zia (Brock University) and D. Camuyong (University of Manitoba) as scrutineers by E. Lubendo (McGill University). Seconded by K. Farlinger (University of Alberta).

Approved by unanimous consent.

VP Marketing: Cody Mackay

Yes: 23 Abstention: 2 No: 0

VP Corporate Relations: Zac Hogg

Yes: 25 Abstention: 0 No: 0

VP External: Zac Hogg

Yes: 24 Abstention: 1 No: 0

VP Members Jessica Gutierrez: Kinglsey Eze: Masonga Chipanshi: Abstention: 3

VP Competitions Rose-Lyne Boghos: Kent dePeuter: Abstention:

VP Conferences Jeanna Kozen: 23 Kent dePeuter: 1 Abstention: 1

President: Calvin Parker

Yes: 24 No: 1 Abstention: 0

c. Election of the incoming Chair of the Board and Vice Chair of the Board

Election of Chair of the Board: E. Lubendo (McGill University

Yes: 22 No: 0 Abstention: 1

Election of Vice Chair of the Board

B. Warren: 1 R. Price: 7 N. Yagi: 4 K. Singh: 13 Abstention: 1

d. Election of Governance Committee

Nomination of D. Canning (University of British Columbia Okanagan), B. Warren (University of Lethbridge), E. Lubendo (McGill University), A. Lal (University of Guelph) and F. Mintu (University of Winnipeg)

e. Election of Finance Committee

Nomination of S. Newall (University of Northern British Columbia), K. Singh (Ryerson University), S. Bullock (CABS), G. Zhan (University of Waterloo), R. Price (University of Victoria), and D. Love (Simon Fraser University).

f. Election of JDCC Committee

Nomination of E. Lubendo (McGill University), S. Lorentz (University of Ottawa), R. Ambrosio (Brock University), Z. Ayoub (University of Calgary), V. Buttinger (Wilfrid Laurier University), T. Green (Trent University) and R-L. Boghos (CABS).

g. Election of Strategic Oversight Committee

Nomination of V. Lau (University of British Columbia), A. Webb (Carleton University), N. Yagi (University of Manitoba), J. Hayes (Bishop's University), B. Barry (University of Alberta), Z. Hogg (CABS), K. Singh (Ryerson University) and C. Parker (CABS). Motion to adopt all committee nominations by J. Hayes (Bishop's University). Seconded by K. Farlinger (University of Alberta). In favour: 25 Against: 0 Abstention: 0 6. New Business: Adoption of F2016 Budget Motion to adopt CABS' F2016 budget by _ . Seconded by_ In favour: 23 Against: 0 Abstention: 1 Motion to mandate the Finance Committee to review the idea of Directors Insurance in F2016 by E. Lubendo (McGill University). Seconded by. B. Sinniger (HEC Montreal). In favour: 17 Against: 0 Abstention: 7 7. Other business and Varia/Miscellaneous/Question Period N/A 8. Signing of the Charter 9. Signing of Other Legal Documents for CRA 10. Adjournment Motion to adjourn meeting by K. Eze (University of Lethbridge). Seconded by N. Keshmiri (University of British Columbia). In favour: 23 Against: 2 (McGill University and University of Manitoba) Abstention: 0 Meeting adjourned at _____ **ATTACHMENTS**

See Google Drive folder: **CABS Head Office - Board of Directors > F2015> Quarter 4 > AGM

Page 3 / 3 Printed 2015-03-25